Thee Oh Sees' 'Floating Coffin' Album Art Will Tantalize and/or Terrify You

Bay Area rockers' "dark, heavier" LP due April 16

thee oh sees floating coffin
Eyes, fangs, and strawberries: Thee Oh Sees' 'Floating Coffin' album art
Daniel Kreps

There are prolific bands, and then there are Thee Oh Sees. The San Francisco garage scuzz-rockers seem to release an album (or two, or three) every calendar year, most recently Putrifiers II, one of SPIN's Top 50 Albums of 2012. Looking to keep one of music's best winning streaks going, John Dywer's outfit will release their next LP Floating Coffin on April 16. That kaleidoscope image of eyes, fangs, and strawberries above is the album cover — always the Oh Sees' strong suit — and the set appropriately features a track called "Strawberries 1 + 2."

"These songs occur in the mindset of a world that's perpetually war-ridden," Dwyer said of the band's new album. "Overall, it's pretty dark, and much heavier than our other albums." Although the whole track list hasn't been revealed, Floating Coffin will include songs called "Toe Cutter – Toe Buster," "Tunnel Time," and "Minotaur," which Thee Oh Sees have road-tested during their stretch of can't-miss Bay Area concerts the past six months. Check out "Minotaur" from San Francisco's The Independent below:


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA