Psych Band the Young Herald Dark New Album With 'Metal Flake'

Austin quartet will release 'Chrome Cactus' LP on Matador this summer

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

The Young's 2012 album, Dub Egg, was, in words of SPIN's David Bevan, a "crispy, Crazy Horse-like delight that glimmers and growls." But if the first taste of the Austin psych-rock outfit's next album is any indication, any sheen they previously had has been scrubbed and scuffed into shadowy, squalling oblivion. On August 26, Matador Records will release Chrome Cactus, an LP they say was influenced by Link Wray, Dead Moon, Lungfish, and (early) ZZ Top. Hit play above to hear "Metal Flake," a guitar-grinding, drum-smashing desert-crawler that finds singer Hans Zimmerman hissing misanthropic things about mind-creatures over an increasingly ripping and discordant score. The LP was produced by Tim Green (of Nation of Ulysses and the Fucking Champs) and is available for pre-order now.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA