Stream Tara Jane O'Neil's Hushed 'Wordless in Woods'

Portland-based multi-instrumentalist plots 2014 release for first solo LP in five years

tara jane o'neil, wordless in woods, where shine new lights
Tara Jane O'Neil
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Tara Jane O'Neil will return early next year with Where Shine New Lights, her first solo album in five years. Due January 27 via Kranky Records, the upcoming full-length follows 2009's A Ways Away, and promises 12 new songs from the Rodan alumna. The first such track to surface is "Wordless in Woods," a gently pulsing, minimalist tune that buzzes with an ambient warmth.

In an official announcement, Kranky urges, "Listen to this new album with open ears, forgetting any previous incarnation, or perception of what you believe this mercurial artist to be or to have been." Start by streaming the cloudy yet intimate "Wordless in Woods" below, and scroll further for the full track list to O'Neil's Where Shine New Lights.

Where Shine New Lights track list:

1. "Welcome"
2. "Wordless in Woods"
3. "This Morning Glory"
4. "Over. Round, in a Room. Found."
5. "Glow Now"
6. "The Lull the Going"
7. "Elemental Finding"
8. "All Now Vibe"
9. "The Signal, Wind"
10. "The Signal, Lift"
11. "Bellow Below as Above"
12. "New Lights for a Sky"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA