Stream Robert Pollard's Up-the-Gut Grinder 'Blazing Gentlemen'

Guided By Voices man takes a more traditional tack on 20th album

Robert Pollard Blazing Gentlemen Album Stream GBV
Robert Pollard is a record-blazing gentleman with and without Guided By Voices Photo by Terri Nelles
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Robert Pollard claims that in creating Blazing Gentlemen, he's "figured out how to write a song after 55 years." That is, of course, an absurd claim when you consider that the album streaming below is his 20th (ish) solo LP, and that it arrives ahead of February's Motivational Jumpsuit, which will be his 20th (ish) with Guided By Voices as well. But listen to the 16 songs below and you'll hear a certain ease and consistency throughout.

That's because the guitar-wieldig rock poet applied the same approach to the entire thing (a first), and it went something like this: Compile a list of rad phrases culled from wherever (life, movie dialogue, overheard conversations); convert those into song titles ("Professional Goose Trainer," for instance); write lyrics around those titles; write melodies around those lyrics; and write chords around those melodies. What's standard for some is novel to Pollard.

  • Robert Pollard — Magic Man Hype
  • Robert Pollard — Blazing Gentlemen
  • Robert Pollard — Red Flag Down
  • Robert Pollard — Storm Center Level Seven
  • Robert Pollard — Return of the Drums
  • Robert Pollard — Picadilly Man
  • Robert Pollard — Professional Goose Trainer
  • Robert Pollard — Extra Fool's Day
  • Robert Pollard — 1000 Royalty Street
  • Robert Pollard — My Museum Needs An Elevator
  • Robert Pollard — Tonight's The Rodeo
  • Robert Pollard — Tea People
  • Robert Pollard — Faking the Boy Scouts
  • Robert Pollard — Triple Sec Venus
  • Robert Pollard — This Place Has Everything
  • Robert Pollard — Lips of Joy


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA