Stream ProbCause's Ambitious, Zooted 'WAVES' EP

Featuring Chance the Rapper, Twista, the Hood Internet, more

Brandon Soderberg WRITTEN BY
Brandon Soderberg

Earlier this year the chatterboxing Chicago rapper ProbCause was featured alongside Chance the Rapper on Hood Internet's trippy, crate-digging remix of "LSD." Now he returns to drop his own, similarly zooted WAVES EP. The release includes the speed-rap stylings of Twista on "Chicago Style," who delivers one his most snarling verses in quite some time, and another appearance by Chance. Features aside, ProbCause nimbly rides fusion-friendly hip-hop tracks; there's the DJ Screwed-up dubstep buzzer "Ego Trip" and the ecstatic rap-rock track "Neon Dreams." (The latter of which was produced by Exmag, the band from electro-turntablist, Gramatik.) Although WAVES is presented as an EP, the ten tracks span 30-plus minutes, showing that its ambitions are bigger than the sampler that "EP" suggests. In fact, the introspective, novelistic "Pale Moonlight" is a downtempo moment of pause that practically turns WAVES EP into a mini-movie.

Stream ProbCause's WAVES EP below and download it for free on May 12.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA