Pink Floyd Announce Their First Album in 20 Years, 'The Endless River'

Former member Roger Waters is reportedly not involved

Pink Floyd The Endless River New Album
David Gilmour live in 2005 Photo by MJ Kim/Getty Images
Colin Joyce

It's been over 20 years since Pink Floyd released their last album The Division Bell, but it may not seem like that long, at least since erstwhile member Roger Waters has been touring The Wall perennially over the course of the last decade. Saturday, it became apparent that David Gilmour seeks to mark the anniversary with a new studio LP called The Endless River.

Gilmour's wife Polly Samson broke the news to Twitter that the new addition to their expansive catalog (due out in October) is based on sessions that took place back in 1994 with Pink Floyd's late multi-instrumentalist Richard Wright. One of the band's longtime singers, Durga McBroom-Hudson noted on her Facebook page that recording began during sessions for The Division Bell and was initially supposed to be due on a side project called "The Big Spliff." According to McBroom-Hudson, the album is composed of entirely unreleased tracks.

Pink Floyd fansite Brain Damage reports that a Sunday issue of the U.K. newspaper The Sun reports that Roger Waters, who left the band after 1983's The Final Cut, was not involved in any of the making of this record.

But don't count on catching the band live anytime soon. The Sun also reports that as of this point, there are no plans for touring behind the October release of this new record.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA