Hear Pharmakon's Industrial Death-Rattler 'Crawling on Bruised Knees'

From New York noise maven Margaret Chardiet's forthcoming 'Abandon' LP, out this May on Sacred Bones

Pharmakon 'Crawling on Bruised Knees' Abandon Margaret Chardiet
Pharmakon / Photo by Jane Chardiet
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

New York-based noise brutalist Margaret Chardiet made it onto SPIN's Best New Artists roundup recently for her "apocalyptically visceral" Pharmakon project. The Sacred Bones label will be sharing her debut album Abandon on May 14, but for now we have the bleak, black majesty of "Crawling on Bruised Knees" to bask in. This rumbling track could just as easily feature the misanthropic barks of Death Grips dude Ride, but Chardiet has no problem spewing her own brand of terrifying vocals over top — computerized shouts that sound like a prolonged death rattle turned into poetry. Via statement, the Red Light District collective member explains that her new album's lyrics are about "loss. Losing everything. Relinquishing control. Complete psychic abandon. Blind leaps of faith into the fire, walking out unscathed. Crawling out of the pit."

Here's the equally creepy cover of Abandon:

Pharmakon's "Abandon"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 DJ Center — 2AM inna London Dub " 05:10
  • 2 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart — Eurydice " 04:19
  • 3 Twin Shadow — To The Top " 03:20
  • 4 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 5 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 6 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54
  • 7 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA