New York Dolls to Record New Album

New York Dolls with Todd Rundgren (third from left) / Photo by Marty Temme
Larry Fitzmaurice

The two original surviving members of glam-punk progenitors the New York Dolls -- singer David Johansen and guitarist Sylvain Sylvain -- reunited for 2006's comeback album, One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This.But a key element was missing: Eccentric producer Todd Rundgren, who helmed the boards for the Dolls' 1973 classic self-titled debut.

That omission will be corrected come January 2009, when Rundgren and the Dolls reunite for the first time in 36 years to begin work on a new record, which will be released through Warner Bros.' re-launched Atco imprint. The currently untitled album will be recorded in Rundgren's studio on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. "We're really excited to be working with Todd again," Johansen said. "We're hoping to recapture the same magic on the forthcoming album."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Night Drive — Easy to Lie " 03:56
  • 2 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 3 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 4 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 5 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 6 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 7 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA