Metallica Festival Date, Radiohead Soundtrack + More

Metallica's James Hetfield (Retna)
SPIN Staff

  • Bust out your earplugs: Metallica will be headlining next year's Sonisphere Festival in England, along with thrash kings Anthrax, Slayer, and Megadeth. The bands — who've been dubbed the Big 4 by metal fans — headlined Sonisphere in Eastern Europe last summer. The 2010 edition of the fest takes place July 8-10 in Knebworth, England. [Sonisphere]

  • Hear a gorgeous track titled "Don't Read What Hasn't Been Baptized by Time" by Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood, which will be included on the soundtrack for the Japanese movie Norwegian Wood. [via Stereogum]

  • Legendary producer Quincy Jones is reportedly working on a remaster of Michael Jackson's 1979 classic Off the Wall, which will include never-before-heard outtakes. [TMZ]

  • Jack White will perform with rockabilly legend Wanda Jackson for four shows in New York and Los Angeles next month. White — who is backing Jackson in the Third Man House Band — has also produced the forthcoming Jackson album The Party Ain't Over, out January 25.

  • Rock legend Levon Helm is expected to make a full recovery after going into the hospital over the weekend for a cold. Helm — who was a founding member and drummer of The Band — has a weakened immune system due to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and recently overcame a battle with throat cancer. "He's going to be fine," says his manager. [Poughkeepsie Journal]

  • Hear a heart-felt piano ballad from the Mountain Goats, titled "Tyler Lambert's Grave," below. [via TwentyFourBit]

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA