Light Heat Go Glamorously Low-Key in 'Elevation' Video

Ex-Mazarin leader's new project plays NYC's Mercury Lounge on June 27

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

After an eight-year absence, Quentin Stoltzfus — the mastermind who once recorded under the moniker Mazarin — has returned. On June 25, the Philadelphia-based songwriter released his first album since Mazarin's 2005 swan song, We're Already There. The psych-leaning folkie has adopted a new identity, Light Heat, and a new crew of backup players: Paul Maroon, Matt Barrick, Peter Bauer, and Walter Martin of the Walkmen. To promote his full-length reintroduction, Stoltzfus has shared a music video for "Elevation," a shimmering charmer off Light Heat's self-titled debut. Watch the sparkly clip above.

Light Heat play New York City's Mercury Lounge tonight (June 27). Tickets are still available and can be purchased here. Stream Light Heat in its entirety (including previously heard tune "The Mirror") over at the New York Times.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA