Hyetal Previews True Panther Debut With Synthy, Swoony 'Northwest Passage'

'Modern Worship' is due out May 21 via True Panther

Marc Hogan

Hyetal is changing labels and working more collaboratively. The U.K. producer will release Modern Worship, his second album overall and first for True Panther Sounds, on May 21. He just revealed the first track from the new LP, titled "Northwest Passage," and it pairs him with Gwilym Gold, a British singer and soundmaker who co-writes a total of three songs on the album, the follow-up to 2011's Broadcast. Past collaborator Alison Garner of shoegaze band the Fauns also contributed to two tracks. "This one felt more like a view of that city from the surrounding desert obscured by a red fog, with some day trips to the coast line," Hyetal said of the album in a statement. With dream-pop synths, rumbling percussion, and Gold's disembodied vocals, "Northwest Passage" might be one of those coastal trips, but it's still plenty foggy.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA