Hear Public Image Ltd.'s Sneering 'Lollipop Opera'

From the post-punk legends' forthcoming Record Store Day EP, 'One Drop'

Public Image Ltd / Photo by Paul Heartfield
Public Image Ltd / Photo by Paul Heartfield
David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

" 'Lollipop Opera,' " explains Public Image Ltd. ringleader John Lydon, "is basically a beautiful bunch of background noise and music to sum up Britain and all its wonderful ambidextrousness!” And yet, it sounds like so much more. While slivers of guitar and ornery kick drum lock jaws with a titular, megaphoned chorus, Lydon babbles and skips and sneers his way from one end to the other. It's a bit of chaos set to feature prominently on the post-punk legends' Record Store Day EP, One Drop, out Saturday, as well as on their forthcoming (and first in 20 years) full-length, This Is PiL.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA