Hear Alberta Cross' Immense Single 'Lay Down'

'Songs of Patience' is due out on July 17 via ATO Records

Alberta Cross / Photo by Brantley Gutierrez
Alberta Cross / Photo by Brantley Gutierrez
Marc Hogan

Three years after debut LP Broken Side of Time, Alberta Cross will return on July 17 with Songs of Patience. On the basis of advance single "Lay Down," the new record will be no less massive than its predecessor. Where the Brooklyn-based, London-transplanted duo's breakout album carried echoes of Kings of Leon and My Morning Jacket, this stadium-size midtempo rocker also has the shamanic swagger of early Verve or former Alberta Cross tourmates Oasis. With its thundering guitars and sky-high chorus, it's hard to believe the song was written in the back of a van in Tampa, where singer/guitarist Petter Ericson Stakee tells his label he felt "beat down by the road." Rise up, "Lay Down":


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA