Hear Irish Threesome Glimmermen's Roaring 'Angels & Devils'

Stripped-down band's debut LP 'I'm Dead' lands stateside on August 20

Marc Hogan

Glimmermen is a Dublin-based threesome made up of members of three Irish bands: Boxes, Jackbeat, and Holy Ghost Fathers. Debut album I'm Dead, out August 20 in the United States, captures them recording at Baltimore's Magpie Cage studio amid Hurricane Sandy, with former Jawbox frontman J Robbins producing. The title track leans toward ska, and video selection "This Town" toward rootsy barroom pop, but "Angels & Devils" is a brittle, sweat-soaked ranter that brings to mind Canada's late, great Constantines. The forces of light and darkness collide in fractured bass-and-guitar interplay and raw-throated bellows.

Glimmermen — Angels & Devils

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 2 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 3 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 4 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 5 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 6 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA