Future Drops Out to Cope With Fame in 'Substitute Everything'

Hear the new one-off track from forthcoming DJ Esco/DJ X-Rated mixtape

Future, contemplating
Future, contemplating
Jordan Sargent WRITTEN BY
Jordan Sargent

Future has owned rap radio in 2013, is on the hook of Rick Ross' booming new single "No Games," just released a video for the lead single ("Honest") off his own upcoming album, and is still sending loose bangers to DJs for their own compilation mixtapes. "Substitute Everything" is off an upcoming mixtape called Drugs by DJ Esco and DJ X-Rated, and it finds the Atlanta crooner singing about using in order to deal with fame: "Today I took a Xany, I started missing family / I don't see 'em as much, I know they feel abandoned."

Featuring major-chord piano accents, "Substitute Everything" suggests Future's upcoming material will focus on how he copes with having become one of the most in-demand artists in rap music.

Drugs is available for download now, and it features tracks from mostly unknown rappers (Toon, Johnny Cinco, Losie) along with current — or forthcoming — hits by Jay Z and 2 Chainz.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA