FULL ALBUM STREAM: Hot Garage Rockers Obits

Obits / Photo by Eliot Shepard
Dan Jackson

Fresh off an ass-kickin' appearance at SXSW, Brooklyn quartet Obits, led by ex-Drive Like Jehu/Hot Snakes frontdude Rick Froberg and Sohrab Habibion of defunct D.C. post-hardcore band Edsel, will drop their excellent second album, Moody Standard and Poor (via Sub Pop), on March 29. But waiting sucks, right? So listen to the entire album now, on us!

The effort, the band's first since their 2009 debut I Blame You, is a blast of old school garage-punk. "There's certainly nothing fashion-forward on their second album, and thank goodness," writes SPIN contributor Joe Gross in our review. "These indie lifers ... rededicate themselves to the sound of Froberg's gritty yell, backed by a no-bullshit rhythm section, and interlocking, almost clean guitars."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA