Free Download: M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel

She & Him / Photo by Mary Rozzi
William Goodman

M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel are no strangers to love songs; their She & Him debut is rife with heartbreak '50s girl-group ballads. And with "Never Had Nobody Like You," a song from M. Ward's upcoming solo album, Hold Time (out Feb. 17), the two unite again to croon about matters of the heart, this time replacing acoustic guitars and string sections with gritty blues riffs and rock'n'roll drumming.

"Since time out of mind I've been lazy / And times before that I was cruel / And times before that I was mad / 'Cause I ain't never had nobody like you," M. Ward croons, sounding like a 1920s jazz singer through a faraway radio, as newly-engaged Deschanel follows his lead.

Ah, reunited and it... feels better than it did the first time!

Listen: M. Ward, "Never Had Nobody Like You"(DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA