CocoRosie's 'Gravediggress' Shovels Artful Creepiness Into Your Ears

'Tales of a Grass Widow' LP due May 24

CocoRosie 'Gravediggress' Tales of a Grass Widow Download Album
The 'Gravediggress' herself
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Parisian pair CocoRosie have been shoveling artful creepiness on audiences since forming in 2003, so it seems quite fitting that sisters Sierra and Bianca Casady have dubbed their newest song "Gravedigress." German-based label City Slang has announced that the group's fifth album is heading to European fans on May 24 and shall be dubbed Tales of a Grass Widow. No word yet on whether Sub Pop will pick up the record for a stateside release, though they backed 2010's Grey Oceans. Yes, there is a quite good band named Grass Widow, but these tales are not theirs. According to Wiktionary, the Mistress Day-appropriate term refers to "an unmarried woman who has lived with several different men," or "a married woman whose husband is away." As for the new song, it continues CocoRosie's flirtations with hip-hop production by building a backing track from skittering beatbox and pensive piano. Nevertheless, the ladies' vocal performance is operatic and beautiful in a creepy singing porcelain doll sort of way. 

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA