Hear Cloud Nothings Thrash Away Their 'Psychic Trauma'

Cleveland trio debuts second track from upcoming 'Here and Nowhere Else' album

Cloud Nothings 'Psychic Drama' Stream
Cloud Nothings get psychic trauma in the snack aisle. Photo by Pooneh Ghana
Dan Reilly

Last summer, Cloud Nothings teased their upcoming third album, Here and Nowhere Else, with an acoustic performance of the track "Psychic Trauma" that was filmed on a Vienna sidewalk. Now the Cleveland trio has unveiled the fully electric studio version, and, as expected, it's leaps and bounds more intense. The song starts off pleasantly enough, with a laid-back Sonic Youth vibe until the band shifts the tempo up a few gears, frontman Dylan Baldi's guitars nearly overtaking his screams of "I can't believe that what you're telling me is true / My mind is always wasted listening to you."

Here and Nowhere Else, the follow-up to 2012's Essential Attack on Memory, is one of SPIN's 50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2014 and will be released on April 1 via Carpark/Mom + Pop.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA