Beastie Boys Nominated for Rock Hall of Fame

Beastie Boys / Photo by Ian Witlen
Kevin O'Donnell

The Beastie Boys, Tom Waits, LL Cool J, and Neil Diamond lead this year's nominees for Cleveland's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the organization announced today. Alice Cooper, Bon Jovi, Chic, Donovan, Dr. John, J. Geils Band, DarleneLove, Laura Nyro, Donna Summer, Joe Tex and Chuck Willis round out the nominees.

The inductees will be named in December, with a ceremony set to follow on March 14 in New York City, broadcast on cable network Fuse.

The final inductees will be selected by a panel of 500 voters, which include past inductees, music journalists, and record industry veterans. Artists are only eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record. (Diamond and Cooper have been eligible since 1995.)

Last year's winners included Genesis, the Stooges, and the Hollies.

The ceremony allows for some all-star tributes from the inductees' biggest fans. Last year, Billie Joe Armstrong saluted the Stooges' Iggy Pop, while Genesis were hailed by Phish.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA