Akon Talks New Michael Jackson Album + More

SPIN Staff

  • Michael Jackson's first posthumous album, Michael, will arrive next week, but Akon, who collaborated with Jackson on lead single "Hold My Hand," says there's unheard music still left in the vaults.

    In an interview with The Wall Street Journal, Akon reveals Jackson recorded many song sketches, but they were mostly "melodies without words" and there are currently no plans for them to see the light of day. "They're not in a position where they can be released," Akon says. [The Wall Street Journal]

  • Hear Björk's new song (and its stunning accompanying video) for "To Lee, With Love, Nick," which the singer recorded for her friend and late fashion icon Alexander McQueen. [Show Studio]

  • As the Beastie Boys put the final touches on their 2011 album, Hot Sauce Committee Part 2, Mike D is dabbling in some solo work. The MC has put an old-school hip-hop spin on two new tracks by Lykke Li and Matt & Kim. Here them below (via Pitchfork and The Fader):

    Matt & Kim's "Cameras"

    Lykke Li's "Get Some"

  • The Pogues are taking Titus Andronicus on the road with them for their upcoming March tour, which includes their annual St. Patrick's Day blowout at New York's Terminal 5. Check out dates here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA