Skip to content

Hear Diana Ross/Tame Impala Track From Rise of Gru Soundtrack

"Turn Up the Sunshine" was co-written by Jack Antonoff and Kevin Parker
(Credit: Omar Vega / Getty Images, Jeff Kravitz / FilmMagic for Life is Beautiful Music & Art Festival, Jeff Kravitz / FilmMagic)

As tipped here last week, Diana Ross and Tame Impala lead the star-studded list of contributors to the soundtrack for Minions: The Rise of Gru, and their collaboration, “Turn Up the Sunshine,” is out now, ahead of the album’s July 1 release via Decca.

A clear homage to Ross’ ‘70s and ‘80s disco-driven pop hits, the track was co-written by Jack Antonoff, Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker, singer Sam Dew and Grammy-winning Swedish musician/producer Patrik Berger. It begins with what sound like the voices of young children repeating the titular phrase, with Ross intoning in staccato phrasing during the verses and then soaring into the chorus.

Minions: The Rise of Gru features ‘70s covers from such artists as Phoebe Bridgers (The Carpenters’ “Goodbye to Love”), Thundercat (Steve Miller Band’s “Fly Like an Eagle”), H.E.R (Sly and the Family Stone’s “Dance to the Music”) and St. Vincent (Lipps Inc.’s “Funkytown”). The lineup also includes BROCKHAMPTON, Weyes Blood, Gary Clark Jr., Kali Uchis, former Chairlift frontwoman Caroline Polachek, Tierra Whack, Asian pop stars Jackson Wang and G.E.M and Earth, Wind & Fire bassist Verdine White, who contributes his own original song as well as joining Brittany Howard on a new version of his band’s classic “Shining Star.”


“Recording sessions for these were some of the most special and bizarre,” Antonoff wrote on Instagram last week. Minions: The Rise of Gru hits theaters on July 1.