Skip to content

Silk Sonic Opens Grammys, Snags Song, Record of the Year Honors

Bruno Mars/Anderson .Paak duo also won two R&B Grammys during the pre-show.
Silk Sonic
(Credit: VALERIE MACON/AFP via Getty Images)

Silk Sonic, the throwback R&B/soul combo led by Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak, won song of the year and record of the year for “Leave the Door Open” at the 64th annual Grammy awards tonight (April 3) in Las Vegas. The duo opened the ceremony with the Sin City-referencing song “777,” which found Mars and Paak decked out in matching white nudie suits and trading off vocals while Paak held the beat down on drums.

Moments later, they won song of the year, an award that was presented by The Roots’ Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson. “Because of you guys, me and Andy [are] going to be singing this song forever,” a jubilant Mars said from the stage. The song’s co-writer, Dernst Emile, dedicated the honor to his mother, who recently passed away.

Toward the end of the evening, “Leave the Door Open” beat out a star-studded field to take home record of the year. “We are really trying our hardest to remain humble at this point, but in the industry, we call that a clean sweep,” Paak beamed while accepting the latter award. “To all the other nominees, ya’ll know we love ya’ll. Drinks is on Silk Sonic tonight.”

“Leave the Door Open,” from Silk Sonic’s debut album, “An Evening With Silk Sonic,” had already won for best R&B song and best R&B performance during the Grammy pre-show ceremony.

Silk Sonic has not yet announced a full tour, but is in the midst of a residency at Las Vegas’ Park MGM through May 29.

Jon Batiste leads all nominees with 11 and won four during the pre-show. Justin Bieber, Doja Cat and H.E.R. have eight nominations, while Billie Eilish and Olivia Rodrigo are up for seven awards apiece.

Among the performers confirmed to appear are Eilish, Rodrigo, Lady Gaga, Batiste, Brothers Osborne, BTS, Brandi Carlile, H.E.R., Lil Nas X with Jack Harlow, Nas, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood and John Legend.

For a full list of winners and nominees, click here.