Skip to content

Nick Cave, Warren Ellis Detail Forthcoming Spoken Word Album

"A strange, contemplative offering borne of an uncertain time," Cave said
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
David Wolff - Patrick / Contributor

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis are collaborating together yet again. The duo announced their upcoming spoken-word record, Seven Songs.

Seven Songs was recorded during the same time as the duo’s 2021 Carnage, but instead of pure music, according to a statement, the new record will feature “seven spoken word pieces set to music.” The album is out June 17 and is available for pre-order.

“While in lockdown I wrote a number of psalms, or small, sacred songs — one a day for a week,” Cave says. “The seven psalms are presented as one long meditation — on faith, rage, love, grief, mercy, sex and praise. A strange, contemplative offering borne of an uncertain time. I hope you like it.”

Seven Songs will be pressed on 10″ vinyl, with all the spoken-word tracks on one side and a 12-minute instrumental on the other.

Cave and Ellis are fresh off their North American tour in support of Carnage, and are gearing up to release their concert film, This Much I Know To Be True.


Seven Songs Track List

1 “How Long Have I Waited?”
2 “Have Mercy On Me”
3 “I Have Trembled My Way Deep”
4 “I Have Wandered All My Unending Days”
5 “Splendour, Glorious Splendour”
6 “Such Things Should Never Happen”
7 “I Come Alone And To You”
8 “Psalm Instrumental”