Kevin Morby Announces New Album This Is A Photograph

A new single and music video are out today

Kevin Morby announced his new album This Is A Photograph set to be released on May 13 via the label Dead Oceans.

To accompany the album announcement, Morby also shared the album’s title track and accompanying video. In the title track, Morby sings in a spoken word fashion over a rustic guitar riff that crescendos into a funky breakdown. The video features vintage pictures from Morby’s life and family, flashing before the audience in a montage. Inspiration for this concept came from Morby flipping through a box of family photos in the basement of his Kansas City childhood home while his father was sick in the hospital.

 

When discussing the track, Morby says: “It’s about the battle every family faces, that of chasing the clock, to live our lives and hold onto one another for as long as possible. That, and, the dreams that come with being a young family in America and where those dreams eventually end up.”

Shortly after the release of the new album, Morby plans on an international tour kicking off on May 20 in Madrid. The European leg of the tour extends throughout late September with the North American portion beginning in San Francisco on September 29. More information can be found below.

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES

Fri. May 20 – Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas
Sat. May 21 – Biarritz, FR @ L’Atabal
Sun. May 22 – Montpellier, FR @ Le Rockstore
Mon. May 23 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbey
Tue. May 24 – Paris, FR @ Le Bataclan
Wed. May 25 – Köln, DE @ Kulturekirche
Thu. May 26 – Antwerpen, BE @ De Roma
Sat. May 28 – London, UK @ Wide Awake at Brockwell Park
Sun. May 29 – Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg
Mon. May 30 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Tue. May 31 – Berlin, DE @ Metropol
Wed. Jun. 1 – Schorndorf, DE @ Manufaktur
Fri. Jun. 3- Angers, FR @ Levitation
Sat. Jun. 4 – Clermont-Ferrand, FR @ La Cooperative de Mai
Mon. Jun. 5 – Lille, FR @ Aéronef
Sun. Jul. 3 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Summer
Mon. Jul. 4 – Terni, IT @ Anfifteatro Romano
Wed. Jul. 6 – Zagreb, HR @ Mochvara
Thu. Jul. 7 – Budapest, HU @ Akvárium Klub
Fri. Jul. 8 – Trencin, Slovakia @ Pohoda Festival
Sat. Jul. 9 – Zittau, DE @ Lonesome Lake Festival
Mon. Jul. 11 – Vienna, AT @ WUK
Tue. Jul. 12 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Wed. Jul. 13 – Bern, CH @ Gurtenfestival
Fri. Jul. 15 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bock Super Rock
Sun. Aug. 21 – Erlanger, DE @ Ewerk
Mon. Aug. 22 – Hannover, DE @ Café Glocksee
Wed. Aug. 24 – Copenhagen, DK @ Punpehuset
Sat. Aug. 27 – Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory
Mon. Aug. 28 – Darmstadt, DE @ Golden Leaves Festival
Wed. Aug. 31 – Brighton, UK @ Chalk
Sat. Sept. 3 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Sun. Sept. 4 – Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall
Mon. Sept. 5 – Glasgow, UK @ Classic Grand
Tue. Sept. 6 – Leeds, UK @ The Brudenell Social Club
Wed. Sept. 7 – Dublin, IE @ Academy
Wed. Sept. 28 – Sonoma, CA @ Historic Redwood Barn *
Thu. Sept. 29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Sat. Oct. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco *
Mon. Oct. 3 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole *
Wed. Oct. 5 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *
Mon. Oct. 10 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Beer City Music Hall *
Tue. Oct. 11 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway Nightclub *
Wed. Oct. 12 – Bloomington, IN @ Buskirk-Chumley Theater *
Fri. Oct. 14 – Memphis, TN @ The Bluff *
Sat. Oct. 15 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East *
Sun. Oct. 16 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Tue. Oct. 18 – Jacksonville, FL @ Intuition Ale Works *
Thu. Oct. 20 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel *
Fri. Oct. 21 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall *
Sat. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club %
Mon. Oct. 24 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %
Tue. Oct. 25 – Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore Music Hall %
Wed. Oct. 26 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall %
Fri. Oct. 28 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall %
Sat. Oct. 29 – Ferndale, MI @ The Magic Bag %
Mon. Oct. 31 – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre %
Tue. Nov. 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom %
Wed. Nov. 2 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe %
Thu. Nov. 3 – Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads Saloon %
Sat. Nov. 5 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre %
Sun. Nov. 6 – Fort Collins, CO @ Washington’s %
Tue. Nov. 8 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The CommonWealth Room %
Thu. Nov. 10 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall %
Fri. Nov. 11 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox %
Sat. Nov. 12 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre %

* w/ Cassandra Jenkins
% w/ Coco

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top