Kevin Morby Shares New Single ‘Rock Bottom’

The singer will document his forthcoming album’s creative process on his newly launched Substack page
Photo Credit: Chantal Anderson

Kevin Morby has released a new single “Rock Bottom,” with an accompanying video this morning. The song comes from his forthcoming album This Is A Photograph which was announced earlier this month. Along with Morby himself, the “Rock Bottom” video features jewelry artist and TikTok star Ariel Kellogg along with Tim Heidecker.

The playful video uses bright colors and modern scenes to display a modern, parodied version of a western. The heroes of the story can expect to elicit laughs from the viewers of the video as they sling bright pink nunchucks turning ordinary summertime settings into goofy battleground scenes.

“For the video, director Johnny Eastlund and I decided we wanted to make an Ice Cream themed Nunchucking Western,” Morby said in a statement. “So I tagged in one of my Instagram nunchuck idols Ariel Kellog to help me battle an evil talent show judge, played by Tim Heidecker, who is taunting his contestants, most notably a little girl in a bumble bee costume.”

 

Morby has also launched a Substack page today, which he will use to share elements of his creative process including drawings, photos, poems, essays, demos, and more. The singer-songwriter said he wants to share “all the puzzle pieces that go into eventually, somehow, magically creating an album of music that I don’t usually share with the public. As one who loves to share their experiences and creations with others while here on planet earth, I’m looking forward to having this newsletter to help do just that.”

This Is A Photograph will be released on May 13 on Dead Oceans. Shortly after the album’s release, Morby will begin touring across Europe, with late dates coming to North America in the fall.

Kevin Morby 2022 Tour Dates:

Fri. May 20 – Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas
Sat. May 21 – Biarritz, FR @ L’Atabal
Sun. May 22 – Montpellier, FR @ Le Rockstore
Mon. May 23 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbey
Tue. May 24 – Paris, FR @ Le Bataclan
Wed. May 25 – Köln, DE @ Kulturekirche
Thu. May 26 – Antwerpen, BE @ De Roma
Sat. May 28 – London, UK @ Wide Awake at Brockwell Park
Sun. May 29 – Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg
Mon. May 30 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Tue. May 31 – Berlin, DE @ Metropol
Wed. Jun. 1 – Schorndorf, DE @ Manufaktur
Fri. Jun. 3- Angers, FR @ Levitation
Sat. Jun. 4 – Clermont-Ferrand, FR @ La Cooperative de Mai
Mon. Jun. 5 – Lille, FR @ Aéronef
Sun. Jul. 3 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Summer
Mon. Jul. 4 – Terni, IT @ Anfifteatro Romano
Wed. Jul. 6 – Zagreb, HR @ Mochvara
Thu. Jul. 7 – Budapest, HU @ Akvárium Klub
Fri. Jul. 8 – Trencin, Slovakia @ Pohoda Festival
Sat. Jul. 9 – Zittau, DE @ Lonesome Lake Festival
Mon. Jul. 11 – Vienna, AT @ WUK
Tue. Jul. 12 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Wed. Jul. 13 – Bern, CH @ Gurtenfestival
Fri. Jul. 15 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bock Super Rock
Sun. Aug. 21 – Erlanger, DE @ Ewerk
Mon. Aug. 22 – Hannover, DE @ Café Glocksee
Wed. Aug. 24 – Copenhagen, DK @ Punpehuset
Sat. Aug. 27 – Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory
Mon. Aug. 28 – Darmstadt, DE @ Golden Leaves Festival
Wed. Aug. 31 – Brighton, UK @ Chalk
Sat. Sept. 3 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Sun. Sept. 4 – Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall
Mon. Sept. 5 – Glasgow, UK @ Classic Grand
Tue. Sept. 6 – Leeds, UK @ The Brudenell Social Club
Wed. Sept. 7 – Dublin, IE @ Academy
Wed. Sept. 28 – Sonoma, CA @ Historic Redwood Barn *
Thu. Sept. 29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Sat. Oct. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco *
Mon. Oct. 3 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole *
Wed. Oct. 5 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *
Mon. Oct. 10 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Beer City Music Hall *
Tue. Oct. 11 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway Nightclub *
Wed. Oct. 12 – Bloomington, IN @ Buskirk-Chumley Theater *
Fri. Oct. 14 – Memphis, TN @ The Bluff *
Sat. Oct. 15 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East *
Sun. Oct. 16 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Tue. Oct. 18 – Jacksonville, FL @ Intuition Ale Works *
Thu. Oct. 20 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel *
Fri. Oct. 21 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall *
Sat. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club %
Mon. Oct. 24 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %
Tue. Oct. 25 – Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore Music Hall %
Wed. Oct. 26 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall %
Fri. Oct. 28 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall %
Sat. Oct. 29 – Ferndale, MI @ The Magic Bag %
Mon. Oct. 31 – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre %
Tue. Nov. 1 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom %
Wed. Nov. 2 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe %
Thu. Nov. 3 – Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads Saloon %
Sat. Nov. 5 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre %
Sun. Nov. 6 – Fort Collins, CO @ Washington’s %
Tue. Nov. 8 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The CommonWealth Room %
Thu. Nov. 10 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall %
Fri. Nov. 11 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox %
Sat. Nov. 12 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre %

* w/ Cassandra Jenkins
% w/ Coco

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top