The War on Drugs Would Rather Rise Above With ‘Change’

The band has already sold out shows on their 2022 North American tour
The War On Drugs
Shawn Brackbill

The War On Drugs dropped “Change” off their upcoming record I Don’t Live Here Anymore, which is out this Friday, October 29.

Mirroring the gritty, raspy vocal pull of Bruce Springsteen, lead singer Adam Granduciel pleads for a grasp of understanding: “I been living on the run, ’cause I can’t find / The thing that holds and binds us time / I’m out here dying in the heat / Oh, what am I to find?” Contrary to Blind Melon’s desperate call for a new direction in their own “Change,” The War On Drugs would rather rise above to avoid a steer in the course of love, chastening their own existence at the close of the track: “Maybe I was born too late for this lonely freedom fight / Maybe I was born in the wrong way / Maybe born on the wrong day.”

 

I Don’t Live Here Anymore is the band’s first studio album in over four years. The War on Drugs will follow its release with a North American tour, hitting the largest venues they’ve ever played, including a headlining performance at New York’s Madison Square Garden. Tickets are on sale now.

The War On Drugs Tour Dates
Fri. Nov. 12 – Lake Perris, CA @ Desert Daze
Wed. Jan. 19 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live
Thu. Jan. 20 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live – SOLD OUT
Fri. Jan. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Toyota Music Factory
Sat. Jan. 22 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Jan. 24 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium – SOLD OUT
Tue. Jan. 25 – Atlanta, GA @ Tabernacle – SOLD OUT
Thu. Jan. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Met Philadelphia
Fri. Jan. 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Met Philadelphia – SOLD OUT
Sat. Jan. 29 – New York, NY @ Madison Square Garden
Mon. Jan. 31 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues
Tue. Feb. 1 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues
Wed. Feb. 2 – Washington, DC @ Anthem
Fri. Feb. 4 – Columbus, OH @ Express Live!
Sat. Feb. 5 – Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre – SOLD OUT
Sun. Feb. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre – SOLD OUT
Tue. Feb. 8 – Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore
Thu. Feb. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre
Fri. Feb. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre
Sat. Feb. 12 – Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Sun. Feb. 13 – Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Tue. Feb 15 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Wed. Feb. 16 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Fri. Feb. 18 – Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom – SOLD OUT
Sat. Feb. 19 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Union
Mon. Feb. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theatre
Tue. Feb. 22 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theatre
Wed. Feb. 23 – Portland, OR @ Theater of the Clouds
Fri. Feb. 25 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
Sat. Feb. 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Auditorium
Tue. March 22 – Helsinki, FI @ Helsinki Ice Hall
Thu. March 24 – Stockholm, SE @ Annexet – SOLD OUT
Fri. March 25 – Stockholm, SE @ Annexet
Sun. March 27 – Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene – SOLD OUT
Mon. March 28 – Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene – SOLD OUT
Wed. March 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ KB Hallen
Thu. March 31 – Copenhagen, DK @ KB Hallen – SOLD OUT
Sat. April 2 – Berlin, DE @ Verti Music Hall
Mon. April 4 – Zurich, CH @ Halle 622
Tue. April 5 – Milano, IT @ Alcatraz
Thu. April 7 – München, DE @ Zenith
Sat. April 9 – Paris, FR @ L’Olympia
Mon. April 11 – Birmingham, UK @ 02 Academy Birmingham
Tue. April 12 – London, UK @ The O2 Arena
Thu. April 14 – Dublin, IE @ 3 Arena
Sat. April 16 – Leeds, UK @ First Direct Arena
Sun. April 17 – Edinburgh, UK @ Edinburgh Corn Exchange
Mon. April 18 – Edinburgh, UK @ Edinburgh Corn Exchange – SOLD OUT
Wed. April 20 – Köln, DE @ Palladium
Thu. April 21 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof
Fri. April 22 – Amsterdam, NL @ Ziggo Dome
Sat. April 23 – Antwerp, BE @ Sportpaleis

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top