Mitski Returns From a Three-Year Absence With ‘Working for the Knife’

Singer is set to tour North America and Europe next year

After a three-year absence, Mitski is back. She just dropped her newest single “Working for the Knife,” and it’s as strong as you’d expect.

 

 

“It’s about going from being a kid with a dream, to a grown up with a job,” Mitski said of the song in a statement. “And feeling that somewhere along the way you got left behind. It’s being confronted with a world that doesn’t seem to recognize your humanity, and seeing no way out of it.”

Dressed as a classy, leather cowgirl, the synth laden track echoes throughout the empty halls Mitski dances between. Stripped down to a nod to the cover of Blink 182’s Enema of the State—bearing long blue latex gloves, red lace bra, and bright blue eye shadow—an empty audience applauds as she freely jumps, sways, and bobs on stage. Huffing and puffing as her full body hits the floor, and after a little exorcist dancing action, the video cuts when Mitski looks directly at the camera.

Mitsuki Laycock a.k.a. Mitski will embark on an extensive tour through North America and Europe, beginning in February 2022. Tickets will go on sale at noon EST on Friday Oct. 8.

Her previous album, Be The Cowboy, was released to wide acclaim. Read our review of it here.

Mitski Tour Dates

Thu. Feb. 17, 2022 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
Fri. Feb. 18, 2022 – Raleigh, NC @ The Ritz
Sat. Feb. 19, 2022 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern
Mon. Feb. 21, 2022 – Birmingham, AL @ Iron City
Tue. Feb. 22, 2022 – New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre
Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 – Houston, TX @ The Lawn at White Oak Music Hall
Fri. Feb. 25, 2022 – Dallas, TX @ The Factory in Deep Ellum
Sat. Feb. 26, 2022 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live at Moody Theater
Mon. Feb. 28, 2022 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Van Buren
Thu. Mar. 3, 2022 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Exposition Hall
Fri. Mar. 4, 2022 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
Mon. Mar. 7, 2022 – Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Wed. Mar. 9, 2022 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Sat. Mar. 12, 2022 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Mon. Mar. 14, 2022 – St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Tue. Mar. 15, 2022 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Riverside Theater
Thu. Mar. 17, 2022 – Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre
Fri. Mar. 18, 2022 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Sat. Mar. 19, 2022 – Montreal, QC @ St-Jean-Baptiste Church
Mon. Mar. 21, 2022 – Boston, MA @ TBD
Thu. Mar. 24, 2022 – New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 25, 2022 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall
Sat. Mar. 26, 2022 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Tue. Mar. 29, 2022 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
Wed. Mar. 30, 2022 – Louisville, KY @ Old Forester’s Paristown Hall
Thu. Mar. 31, 2022 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Thu. April 21, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ Marble Factory
Fri. April 22, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ University Stylus
Sat. April 23, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ Queen Margaret Union
Mon. April 25, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Tue. April 26, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz
Thu. April 28, 2022 – London, UK @ The Roundhouse
Sat. April 30, 2022 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Mon. May 2, 2022 – Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Tue. May 3, 2022 – Paris, FR @ Le Cabaret Sauvage
Wed. May 4, 2022 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Fri. May 6, 2022 – Zurich, CH @ Les Docks
Sat. May 7, 2022 – Lausanne, CH @ Les Docks
Mon. May 9, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Metropol
Tue. May 10, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Wed. May 11, 2022 – Stockholm, SE @ Nalen
Thu. May 12, 2022 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller Music Hall
Sat. May 14, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Fabrik
Sun. May 15, 2022 – Cologne, DE @ Stollwerck
Tue. May 17, 2022 – Vienna, AU @ WUK
Wed. May 18, 2022 – Prague, CZ @ Rock Cafe
Thu. May 19, 2022 – Munich, DE @ Strom

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top