Skip to content

Boulevards Announce Upcoming Electric Cowboy: Born in Carolina Mud, Drop First Single

Boulevards is set to perform at Austin's SXSW Festival in March
Alec Basse

Boulevards, the project of Jamil Rashad,  is paying tribute to his roots in his forthcoming Electric Cowboy: Born in Carolina Mud, out on February 11, 2022.

“I was born in the North Carolina mud,” Rashad said in a statement. “That’s where I have my roots. I’ve lived in Los Angeles and New York, but I keep coming back here. This is home. This is where I’ve learned the most.”

Boulevards created the 12-track record with many prominent collaborators. Electric Cowboy was co-produced and has appearances by Blake Rhein of Durand Jones & the Indications and Colin Croom of Twin Peaks, and features Adrian Quesada of Black Pumas, Nikki Lane, Macie Stewart of OHMME, including Yola collaborators Ashley Wilcoxson and Leisa Hans on backing vocals. The album was recorded within a trio of music empires, in Chicago, Nashville, and Atlanta.

Today, Boulevards shared “Where is Da Luv?” from the album. A groovy, breathy beat, furthering the Black Eyed Peas’ 2003 “Where Is The Love?,” Boulevards’ snappingly smooth twang can only excite us on what is to come on Electric Cowboy.



“North Carolina doesn’t get nearly the credit it deserves, but there are all these amazing people doing it a very particular way that is very inspiring,” Rashad said. “It’s always been at the center of so many different scenes—soul, country, jazz, hip-hop, indie rock. I wanted some of that dirt on this record. I’m leaving my footprint in that mud.”


Electric Cowboy: Born in Carolina Mud Track List


1. Turn
2. Together
3. How Do Ya Feel
4. Surprise
5. Hooked
6. Where is Da Luv?
7. Better Off Dead (feat. Nikki Lane)
8. God Bless Ya (Be Thankful)
9. Ain’t Right
10. Modern Man
11. Time
12. Problems