Pond Announce New Album Tasmania, Release “Daisy”

Tame Impala spin-off Pond have announced their eighth album Tasmania and released the LP’s lead single, “Daisy.” The track features a danceable synth rock groove couched in a sprawling intro and outro that frame the song as a reverie. An accompanying video features Pond frontman and ex-Impala bassist Nick Allbrook rollicking around Kulin and Nyoongar indigenous land, to which the clip opens paying tribute.

The band described the forthcoming project in a statement as a last-ditch celebration in the face of ecological destruction, writing in part:

Tasmania coats an undercurrent of restless, anxious dread in a sheen of light, apathetic content – both real and parody – rather than wallowing in self-pity, encouraging us to celebrate the fruits of our planet, frolic in the ocean, kick up the dust, roll in the grass and enjoy the feeling of being in love – while we still can.

The LP is due March 1 via Interscope. Kevin Parker co-produced. (Thematically relevant: Parker lost instruments and recording gear at his Malibu home to last fall’s Woolsey fire.) It’s Pond’s first full-length since 2017’s The Weather. The previously released songs “Burnt Out Star” and “Sixteen Days” also appear on the tracklist.

Watch the “Daisy” video below.


you may like

Scroll to Top