Skip to content
New Music

Panda Bear Announces New Album Buoys, Releases “Dolphin”

INDIO, CA - APRIL 12: Panda Bear performs onstage during day 3 of the 2015 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival (Weekend 1) at the Empire Polo Club on April 12, 2015 in Indio, California. (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images for Coachella)

Panda Bear has announced a new album titled Buoys, due February 8 via Domino. Today he shared the lead single, “Dolphin.”

The album will be Panda Bear’s first since 2015’s Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper, itself bookended by the EPs Mr. Noah and Crossroads. It was co-produced and co-mixed by Rusty Santos, who also worked on Panda Bear’s 2007 album Person Pitch. The pop experimentalist’s latest EP A Day with the Homies was released in January and followed by a brief tour, during which he mixed in material from the upcoming full-length. His Animal Collective bandmate Geologist joined that tour’s U.S. leg.

Listen to “Dolphin” and check out Buoys‘ tracklist below.


01 Dolphin
02 Cranked
03 Token
04 I Know I Don’t Know
05 Master
06 Buoys
07 Inner Monologue
08 Crescendo
09 Home Free