Skip to content
New Music

Tom Petty Hits Collection The Best of Everything Announced, Featuring Two Unreleased Songs

SAN DIEGO, CA - AUGUST 03: Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers kick off their summer 2014 tour in support of their latest album 'Hypnotic Eye' at Viejas Arena on August 3, 2014 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Jerod Harris/Getty Images)

An American Treasure, an 60-song collection of unreleased Tom Petty material (demos, alternate takes, unheard songs, so on) was just released a week ago. But today, a new expansive Petty release has been announced. This one, entitled The Best of Everything, is exactly what it sounds like: an expanded greatest hits of sorts.

The 38-track double album compiles the biggest and most beloved songs by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Tom Petty on his own, and his pre-Heartbreakers band Mudcrutch (which reunited in 2007 and released two albums in the ensuing decade). Notably, however, the collection also includes two unreleased tracks: an alternate take on the album’s title track (originally included on 1985’s Southern Accents) and “For Real.” The new version of “The Best of Everything” is out today.

A video for “Gainesville,” an unreleased Petty track from the recent An American Treasure collection, was released earlier this week. Check out the full track list for The Best of Everything (featuring many song names you will recognize) and listen to the unreleased title track below. The set will be available on CD and digitally on November 16, and on vinyl December 7.

Disc 1
1. Free Fallin’
2. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
3. You Wreck Me
4. I Won’t Back Down
5. Saving Grace
6. You Don’t Know How It Feels
7. Don’t Do Me Like That
8. Listen To Her Heart
9. Breakdown
10. Walls (Circus)
11. The Waiting
12. Don’t Come Around Here No More
13. Southern Accents
14. Angel Dream (No. 2)
15. Dreamville
16. I Should Have Known It
17. Refugee
18. American Girl
19. The Best Of Everything (Alt. Version)

Disc 2
1. Wildflowers
2. Learning To Fly
3. Here Comes My Girl
4. The Last DJ
5. I Need To Know
6. Scare Easy
7. You Got Lucky
8. Runnin’ Down A Dream
9. American Dream Plan B
10. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (feat. Stevie Nicks)
11. Trailer
12. Into The Great Wide Open
13. Room At The Top
14. Square One
15. Jammin’ Me
16. Even The Losers
17. Hungry No More
18. I Forgive It All
19. For Real