Protomartyr Announce New Album Relatives in Descent, Release “A Private Understanding”

(Photo by Daniel Topete)

Detroit’s smartest punch-drunk post-punks Protomartyr have a new album coming. It’s called Relatives in Descent, and it’s out September 29 via their new label Domino. To accompany the news, they’ve also released a video for “A Private Understanding,” the opening track. Over an off-kilter drumbeat, bellower-in-chief Joe Casey gives a vision of America in 2017–“this age of blasting trumpets, paradise for fools”–before heading into murkier waters. “Elvis outside of Flagstaff, driving a camper van,” the second verse begins. “Looking for meaning in a cloud mass, sees the voice of Joseph Stalin.”

The “A Private Understanding” video features Marty Smith, a 78-year-old standup comic from the band’s hometown, delivering Casey’s lines as an old man at a bar with a disinterested audience. Watch it below and see the Relatives in Descent cover art and tracklist after that.

Protomartyr Announce New Album <i>Relatives in Descent</i>, Release “A Private Understanding”” title=”unnamed-13-1499698522″ data-original-id=”248523″ data-adjusted-id=”248523″ class=”sm_size_full_width sm_alignment_center ” data-image-source=”getty” />
<p><em><strong>Relatives in Descent </strong></em><strong>tracklist</strong></p><div class=

1. “A Private Understanding”
2. “Here Is the Thing”
3. “My Children”
4. “Caitriona”
5. “The Chuckler”
6. “Windsor Hum”
7. “Don’t Go to Anacita”
8. “Up The Tower”
9. “Night-Blooming Cereus”
10. “Male Plague”
11. “Corpses in Regalia”
12. “Half Sister”


Scroll to Top