Fleet Foxes Announce New Album Crack-Up, Share Nine-Minute Epic “Third of May / Ōdaigahara”

After six years of relative silence, Fleet Foxes have announced their third album Crack-Up and shared the lead single, a nine-minute suite called “Third of May / ?daigahara.” Crack-Up, written entirely by frontman Robin Pecknold and produced by bandmate Skyler Skjelset, will be released by Nonesuch Records on June 16.

The first two thirds of “Third of May / ?daigahara” will be immediately familiar to Fleet Foxes fans, and the final section is comprised of drifting and psychedelic acoustic music that sounds a little like Sung Tongs-era Animal Collective. Speaking of which, Fleet Foxes will play several dates with AnCo to support Crack-Up, as well as others with Beach House–a kind of all-stars of indie circa 2009 reunion tour. Hear the new song below, and check out the Crack-Up album art, tracklist, and tour dates after that.

Fleet Foxes Announce New Album <i data-lazy-src=


you may like

Scroll to Top