Skip to content
New Music

New Music: Slowdive – “Star Roving”

Slowdive broke up following the release of 1995’s Pygmalion, but reunited in 2014 for a worldwide tour. Today, they’ve released a new song called “Star Roving,” their first new music in over twenty years. Listen to it below. It features the lineup of Rachel Goswell, Simon Scott, Neil Halstead, Christian Savill, and Nick Chaplin—it also sounds as fresh and enveloping as anything they recorded in their original run.

The band has also signed to label Dead Oceans, presaging the release of more new music in 2017. In a statement, Halstead said: “When the band decided to get back together in 2014, we really wanted to make new music. It’s taken us a whole load of shows and a few false starts to get to that point, but it’s with pride and a certain trepidation we unleash ‘Star Roving.’ It’s part of a bunch of new tracks we’ve been working on and it feels as fun, and as relevant playing together now as it did when we first started. We hope folks enjoy it.”