Skip to content
New Music

New Music: Mastodon Announce New Album Emperor of Sand, Release “Sultan’s Curse’

SAN FRANCISCO, CA - OCTOBER 20: Bassist Troy Sanders of Mastodon performs at The Warfield Theater on October 20, 2015 in San Francisco, California. (Photo by Miikka Skaffari/FilmMagic)

Gucci Mane and Young Thug’s Atlantan brethren Mastodon is prepping for a spring tour and an album release. The band has released “Sultan’s Curse”—a cut from that upcoming album, titled Emperor of Sand—last night. The lead single, a solid four minutes of apocalyptic brooding, can be streamed below. You can also take a look at the album’s cover art and track list. Emperor of Sand drops March 31 via Reprise.

We went and did it again !#fun#mastodon

A photo posted by Bhinds (@bhinds) on

Emperor of Sand track list:

1. “Sultan’s Curse”
2. “Show Yourself”
3. “Precious Stones”
4. “Steambreather”
5. “Roots Remain”
6. “Word To The Wise”
7. “Ancient Kingdom”
8. “Clandestiny”
9. “Andromeda”
10. “Scorpion Breath”
11. “Jaguar God”