Skip to content

Four Tet Compiles Playlist Featuring Music From the Countries Affected by Donald Trump’s Ban

LONDON, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 23: Kieran Hebden, aka Four Tet, performs at 'The Common Good And NTS Presents: In Aid Of Syria Relief UK' at Styx on October 23, 2015 in London, England. (Photo by Matthew Baker/Getty Images)

Last year, Four Tet started curating a playlist that now stands at 327 songs. The eight most-recent tracks come from countries whose artists are banned from the U.S. because of Donald Trump’s recent travel ban. Those musicians include Rahim AlHaj (Iraq), Martik (Iran), Omar Souleyman (Syria), Kourosh Yaghmaei (Iran), Naji Barakat (Yemen), Haussein Shiekh and Radio Mogadisco Swahili Singers (Somalia), Abdullah Kershi and Ahmed Sherif (Somalia), and the Dinka people of Abyei (Sudan). Four Tet also recalled recording with Souleyman in Brooklyn a while back and remarked that such a collaboration would’ve be barred under Trump’s orders. Listen to the compilation below.