Skip to content
New Music

Conor Oberst Announces New Album Salutations, Shares “A Little Uncanny”

Erstwhile Bright Eyes impresario Conor Oberst has announced his next album, Salutations, due out March 17. The new album is described as a “companion piece” to last October’s Ruminations. It features seven new songs as well as all 10 of Ruminations‘ songs in new, full-band arrangements recorded with the Felice Brothers and drummer Jim Keltner. Guest appearances include Jim James, Gillian Welch, Blake Mills, Jonathan Wilson, M Ward, and Maria Taylor.

Last month, Oberst shared versions of two other songs that will appear on Salutations: a full-band version of “Tachycardia” and a solo version of “Afterthought.” If you can’t wait until March, pre-orders of the album will also include an immediate download of a new song, “Napalm.” Listen to the full-band version of “A Little Uncanny,” with a vintage VHS-style video directed by Josh Rawson, and review the Salutations track list below.

Conor Oberst, Salutations
1. “Too Late to Fixate”
2. “Gossamer Thin”
3. “Overdue”
4. “Afterthought”
5. “Next of Kin”
6. “Napalm”
7. “Mamah Borthwick”
8. “Till Saint Dymphna’s Kicks Us Out”
9. “Barbary Coast”
10. “Tachycardia”
11. “Empty Hotel by the Sea”
12. “Anytime Soon”
13. “Counting Sheep”
14. “Rain Follows The Plow”
15. “You All Loved Him Once”
16. “A Little Uncanny”
17. “Salutations”