New Music \

Hear Adult Swim’s New NOISE Compilation, Featuring Pharmakon, Arca, Prurient, and More

Today, Adult Swim shares NOISE, a new compilation of experimental music with a stacked roster of contributors. Though the title and blacked-out cover art might convey the idea of noise music as an impenetrable monolith, the compilation actually gives the opposite impression, presenting a generous array of artists whose definitions of noise range from hardcore punk doused with candy-coated Adderall (Melt-Banana) to brooding West Coast raps over Merzbow-style analog mayhem (clipping., whose “Body for the Pile” served as NOISE’s lead single).

In addition to Melt-Banana, NOISE features fellow Japanoise heavyweights Yamantaka Eye of Boredoms (billed here as just “EYE”) and Merzbow himself. On the American side, there is Pharmakon, whose visceral performances have made her the closest thing noise has to a mainstream ambassador in recent years, plus the buzzy up-and-comer Dreamcrusher and grizzled veterans Wolf Eyes. Some of the most exciting recent music that might fall under the noise banner has come from artists more rooted in slippery club music than they are in punk rock, and that contingent is well represented as well, with cuts from Arca and Vessel.

Because of its admirable commitment to stylistic diversity, NOISE isn’t always a consistent listen, but it’s about as fun and inviting as any compilation titled NOISE could possibly be. Hear it below.