Skip to content
New Music

New Music: The xx Announce New Album I See You, Release “On Hold”

NEW YORK, NY - NOVEMBER 06: (L-R): Oliver Sim, Romy Madley Croft and Jamie xx of The xx attend the Guggenheim International Gala Dinner made possible by Dior on November 6, 2014 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for Dior)

After releasing mysterious music snippets on their Spotify playlist over the past few weeks, the xx have announced their new album, entitled I See You. It’s out on January 13. The new project is the trio’s first album since 2012’s Coexist, though Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim both appeared on Jamie xx’s In Colour last year.

The announcement comes with the new song “On Hold,” which samples Hall & Oates’ “I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do).” Although the xx’s signature reverb-soaked arrangements are still here, the single steps away from the dark atmospherics allow for a more vibrant aesthetic. Listen to “On Hold” and take a gander at the track list below.

I See You track list:
1. “Dangerous”
2. “Say Something Loving”
3. “Lips”
4. “A Violent Noise”
5. “Performance”
6. “Replica”
7. “Brave For You”
8. “On Hold”
9. “I Dare You”
10. “Test Me”