Skip to content

The Soundtrack for Black Mirror‘s “San Junipero” Episode is Getting an Official Release

The best episode of Black Mirror‘s recent season, “San Junipero,” had an unforgettable soundtrack: a combination of melancholic synth-orchestral ambience, and a dynamite playlist consisting largely of ’80s pop music. Series creator Charlie Brooker has already released a handy Spotify playlist of the episode’s retro dance hits. According to Film Music Reporter and NME, composer Clint Mansell (known primarily for his soundtrack work for director Darren Aronofsky) will be releasing the score on vinyl and digitally via Lakeshore Records on December 2.

The label deals mostly in TV and film music, having recently released the soundtracks for Season 1 of Netflix’s Stranger Things and climate change documentary Before the Flood (with music from Trent Reznor/Atticus Ross and Mogwai), among others. FMR notes that this will be the fourth score from the Black Mirror season to be released.

See the album’s tracklist, and listen to Brooker’s “San Junipero” playlist, below.

Black Mirror – “San Junipero”:

1. San Junipero (80s-90s-00s-??s)
2. Faith, Hope, Fear & Falling In Love
3. Tick Tock (Clock Of My Heart)
4. Night Drive
5. Property Of Tucker Systems
6. In Sickness, In Health
7. Life Eternal
8. Waves Crashing On Distant Shores Of Time
9. Endless Summer
10. San Junipero (Saturday Night In the City Of The Dead)