Skip to content

Here’s All the Music Stuff That Happened Today

GLASTONBURY, ENGLAND - JUNE 26: A man dressed as Donald Trump takes part in a tomato fight at the Glastonbury Festival 2016 at Worthy Farm, Pilton on June 25, 2016 near Glastonbury, England. The Festival, which Michael Eavis started in 1970 when several hundred hippies paid just £1, now attracts more than 175,000 people. (Photo by Matt Cardy/Getty Images)

Donald Trump is the president-elect of the United States, and many of us are feeling some combination of stress, fear, and disappointment. Nonetheless, the hype machine churns on. Here’s the music news that would’ve made headlines for us any other day, but, frankly, doesn’t feel top-of-the-fold today.

  • Video: Cloud Nothings – “Modern Act”
    Cloud Nothings have a new album, Life Without Sound, coming out on January 27, 2017, and a new music video for first single “Modern Act.” They’ve also just announced a slate of U.S. and European tour dates. See those over at A.V. Club.

  • New Music: Hudson Mohawke – “Play N Go”
    Hudson Mohawke composed the soundtrack to the forthcoming video game Watch Dogs 2. We’ve already heard “Shanghaied,” and here’s “Play N Go.” Ded Sec – Watch Dogs 2 (OST) is out this Friday, November 11.

  • System of a Down Are Working on a New Album
    The band told Kerrang! they’ve been in the studio for six months and have 15 “album-worthy” tracks. System of a Down reunited in 2010, but they haven’t released a new album since 2005’s Hypnotize. 
  • Video: Dean Blunt and Yung Lean – “Fronto Kings”
    Dean Blunt and Yung Lean (“Jonatanleandoer127”) have shared a video for something called “Fronto Kings,” but it’s not clear if that’s the name of a song, a project, or what exactly. The video also seems like it may contain multiple tracks. [Fact]
  • Pharrell Says There’s a New N.E.R.D. Album Coming
    Pharrell hosted a live taping of his Beats 1 show at ComplexCon this weekend. During an audience Q&A, someone asked whether there would be a new N.E.R.D album. “There answer is yes,” Pharrell said. “When it’s time.” The group’s last album was 2010’s Nothing. [Complex]
  • Courtney Barnett Covered “Drunk on Election Night”
    Here’s Courtney Barnett in Denver last night, playing a cover of Dan Kelly & the Alpha Males’ “Drunk on Election Night,” and here’s the original. [Stereogum]

  • New Music: Black Lips – “Deaf, Dumb and Blind”
    The Black Lips recorded a reaction to last night’s results. “election got us feeling a certain type of way, so we moded out a chaos UK style anarchy punk romp,” the band wrote on SoundCloud.

  • A Tribe Called Quest Share Track List for Final Album
    We Got It From Here, Thank You for Your Service is 16 songs, and the last one is called “The Donald.” [Pigeons & Planes]
    1. “The Space Program”
    2. “We The People….”
    3. “Whateva Will Be”
    4. “Solid Wall of Sound”
    5. “Dis Generation”
    6. “Kids…”
    7. “Melatonin”
    8. “Enough”
    9. “Mobius”
    10. “Black Spasmodic”
    11. “The Killing Season”
    12. “Lost Somebody”
    13. “Movin Backwards”
    14. “Conrad Tokoyo”
    15. “Ego”
    16. “The Donald”