Skip to content

MTV VMAs 2016 Winners List: Beyoncé, Drake, Fifth Harmony, and More

NEW YORK, NY - AUGUST 28: Beyonce (R) attends the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards at Madison Square Garden on August 28, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Nicholas Hunt/FilmMagic)

The MTV Video Music Awards went down tonight at New York City’s Madison Square Garden. Rihanna received the Video Vanguard Award, while Beyoncé cleaned up with Video of the Year and Best Pop Video (“Formation”), Best Female Video (“Hold Up”), Best Long Form Video (Lemonade), as well as four additional professional awards for “Formation.” The first moonman went to Fifth Harmony for Song of the Summer (“All in My Head (Flex)” feat. Fetty Wap).

Beyoncé’s standout performance, announced just hours before the show, featured pretty much all of Lemonade in medley format. Rihanna did four separate sets leading up to her Video Vanguard Award acceptance, Kanye West gave a speech and premiered a new video for his song “Fade,” and Britney Spears performed “Make Me…” with G-Eazy. Future, Ariana Grande, Nicki Minaj, Troye Sivan, and Alessia Cara were among the other performers tonight.

In the Video of the Year category, Queen Bey won out over Kanye West’s “Famous,” Drake’s “Hotline Bling,” Justin Bieber’s “Sorry,” and Adele’s “Hello” (the VMAs’ eligibility period begins in the middle of last year). A few changes to the awards for 2016: The “Best Video With a Social Message” category is gone this year, while the “Artist to Watch” award has been rebooted as the Grammys-biting “Best New Artist.” The prize for Best Long Form Video, awarded for the first and last time in 1991 (to Madonna), is back as the “Breakthrough Long Form Video.”

The VMAs pre-show, when a number of the less-prominent awards are announced, started at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT). The show itself began at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT). Winners’ names appear in bold.

Video of the Year:
Adele, “Hello”
Beyoncé, “Formation”
Drake, “Hotline Bling”
Justin Bieber, “Sorry”
Kanye West, “Famous”

Best Collaboration:
Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar, “Freedom”
Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign, “Work From Home”
Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne, “Let Me Love You”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna, “This Is What You Came For”
Rihanna ft. Drake, “Work” (short version)

Best Female Video:
Adele, “Hello”
Beyoncé, “Hold Up”
Sia, “Cheap Thrills”
Ariana Grande, “Into You”
Rihanna ft. Drake, “Work” (short version)

Best Male Video:
Drake, “Hotline Bling”
Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna, “This Is What You Came For”
Kanye West, “Famous”
The Weeknd, “Can’t Feel My Face”

Best Hip-Hop Video:
Drake, “Hotline Bling”

Desiigner, “Panda”
Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”
Chance the Rapper ft. Saba, “Angels”
2 Chainz, “Watch Out”

Best Pop Video:
Adele, “Hello”
Beyoncé, “Formation”
Justin Bieber, “Sorry”
Alessia Cara, “Wild Things”
Ariana Grande, “Into You”

Best Rock Video:
All Time Low, “Missing You”
Coldplay, “Adventure of a Lifetime”
Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato, “Irresistible”
Twenty One Pilots, “Heathens”
Panic! at the Disco, “Victorious”

Best Electronic Video:
Calvin Harris & Disciples, “How Deep Is Your Love”

99 Souls ft. Destiny’s Child & Brandy, “The Girl Is Mine”
Mike Posner, “I Took a Pill in Ibiza”
Afrojack, “SummerThing!”
The Chainsmokers ft. Daya, “Don’t Let Me Down”

Breakthrough Long Form Video:
Justin Bieber, PURPOSE: The Movement
Chris Brown, Royalty
Florence + the Machine, The Odyssey
Troye Sivan, Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy

Best New Artist:
Bryson Tiller
Zara Larsson
Lukas Graham

Best Art Direction:
Beyoncé, “Hold Up” (Production Designer: Jason Hougaard)
Fergie, “M.I.L.F. $” (Production Designer: Alexander Delgado)
Drake, “Hotline Bling” (Production Designer: Jeremy MacFarlane)
David Bowie, “Blackstar” (Production Designer: Jan Houllevigue)
Adele, “Hello” (Production Designer: Colombe Raby)

Best Choreography:
Beyoncé, “Formation” (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia)

Missy Elliott ft. Pharrell, “WTF (Where They From)” (Choreographer: Hi-Hat)
Beyoncé, “Sorry” (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia, Anthony Burrell, Beyoncé Knowles Carter)
FKA Twigs, “M3LL155X” (Choreographers: Aaron Sillis, Benjamin Milan, Kenrick Sandy and FKA twigs)
Florence + the Machine, “Delilah” (Choreographer: Holly Blakey)

Best Direction:
Beyoncé, “Formation” (Director: Melina Matsoukas)

Coldplay, “Up&Up” (Director: Vania Heymann, Gal Muggia)
Adele, “Hello” (Director: Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie, “Lazarus” (Director: Johan Renck)
Tame Impala, “The Less I Know The Better” (Director: Canada)

Best Cinematography:
Beyoncé, “Formation” (Cinematographer: Malik Sayeed)

Adele, “Hello” (Cinematographer: André Turpin)
David Bowie, “Lazarus” (Cinematographer: Crille Forsberg)
Alesso, “I Wanna Know” (Cinematographer: Corey Jennings)
Ariana Grande, “Into You” (Cinematographer: Paul Laufer)

Best Editing:
Beyoncé, “Formation” (Editor: Jeff Selis)

Adele, “Hello” (Editor: Xavier Dolan)
Fergie, “M.I.L.F. $” (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs)
David Bowie, “Lazarus” (Editor: Johan Söderberg)
Ariana Grande, “Into You” (Editor: Hannah Lux Davis)

Best Visual Effects:
Coldplay – “Up&Up” (VFX Editor: Vania Heymann)

FKA Twigs – “M3LL155X” (VFX Editors: Lewis Saunders and Electric Theatre Collective)
Adele – “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)” (VFX Editor: Jonathan Box, MPC)
The Weeknd – “Can’t Feel My Face” (VFX Editor: Bryan Smaller)
Zayn – “PILLOWTALK” (VFX Editor: David Smith)’

Best Song of the Summer
The Chainsmokers feat. Halsey, “Closer”
Drake feat. Kyla & Wizkid, “One Dance”
Fifth Harmony feat. Fetty Wap, “All In My Head (Flex)”
Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna, “This Is What You Came For”
Nick Jonas feat. Ty Dolla $ign, “Bacon”
Kent Jones, “Don’t Mind”
Major Lazer feat. Justin Bieber & MØ, “Cold Water”
Selena Gomez, “Kill ‘Em With Kindness”
Sia, “Cheap Thrills”
Justin Timberlake, “Can’t Stop The Feeling”