Skip to content

Green Day Return With ‘BANG BANG,’ Their First Single in Four Years

CLEVELAND, OH - APRIL 18: (L-R) Inductees Billie Joe Armstrong, Tre Cool and Mike Dirnt of Green Day speak onstage during the 30th Annual Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony at Public Hall on April 18, 2015 in Cleveland, Ohio. (Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images)

Green Day are finally back. Four years after releasing their ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, ¡Tré! trilogy in 2012, the pop-punk giants have returned with a new single called “BANG BANG.” The song finds the quartet revisiting familiar territory — the anarchic vocals, the fierce power chords — and also doubles as a political statement.

“It’s about the culture of mass shooting that happens in America mixed with narcissistic social media,” frontman Billie Joe Armstrong told Rolling Stone. “There’s this sort of rage happening, but it’s also now being filmed and we all have ourselves under surveillance. To me, that is so twisted. To get into the brain of someone like that was freaky.”

“BANG BANG” comes after a tough couple of years for Green Day. Armstrong entered rehab in 2012 for a prescription-pill addiction, after a very public meltdown; bassist Mike Dirnt’s wife Brittney had a bout with breast cancer; and guitarist Jason White was diagnosed with tonsil cancer. They’ve weathered the difficulties, though, and have a new album on the horizon: Their 12th studio LP, Revolution Radio, is scheduled for an October 7 release via Reprise Records. Produced by the band, the upcoming effort was recorded in Oakland and spans 12 tracks.

Revolution Radio is a movement for lost souls to come together… dance together… sing together… and most of all, find each other,” Armstrong said in a statement. “That’s what the spirit of Green Day has been about since day one.”

Get familiar with “BANG BANG” below, and scroll further for the full track list to Revolution Radio.

Revolution Radio track list: 

1. “Somewhere Now”
2. “Bang Bang”
3. “Revolution Radio”
4. “Say Goodbye”
5. “Outlaws”
6. “Bouncing Off the Wall”
7. “Still Breathing”
8. “Youngblood”
9. “Too Dumb to Die”
10. “Troubled Times”
11. “Forever Now”
12. “Ordinary World”

Update: “BANG BANG” now has a lyric video, shared via Green Day’s Facebook. Watch it below.