Skip to content

Patti Smith Recites Nico Poetry and Lyrics on ‘Killer Road’

Soundwalk Collective (a.k.a. Stephan Crasneanscki, Simone Merli, and Kamran Sadeghi), Patti Smith, and her daughter Jesse Paris Smith will release a Nico tribute album called Killer Road later this year. Conceived as a narrative about the beloved German singer’s death in 1988, Killer Road features Smith reciting Nico’s poems and lyrics over music by Soundwalk Collective.

According to Pitchfork, the record was initially done as a live performance in 2014. It’ll feature melodies performed on Nico’s harmonium, which was found in a pawn shop by Smith in 1978. Listen to Smith recite the title track below, and find the record itself on September 2 via Sacred Bones/Bella Union.

Patti Smith Recites Nico Poetry and Lyrics on 'Killer Road'

Killer Road track list:
1. “Killer Road”
2. “My Heart Is Empty”
3. “Evening of Light”
4. “Saeta”
5. “Secret Side”
6. “Fearfully In Danger”
7. “I Will Be Seven”
8. “The Sphinx”
9. “My Only Child”