News \

Devendra Banhart Announces ‘Ape in Pink Marble,’ Which Is the Title of a New Album

Plus a lovely new song called "Middle Names"

Odd bird of experimental folk Devendra Banhart has announced a new album, amusingly titled Ape in Pink Marble, and a shared first peek in the form of “Middle Names.” It’s a soothing acoustic composition reminiscent of earlier, Rejoicing in the Hands-era Banhart.

The follow-up to 2013’s Mala is out September 23 from Nonesuch Records. Marble will continue Banhart’s work with musicians Noah Georgeson and Josiah Steinbrick, both of whom contributed to Mala. Listen to “Middle Names” below, complete with a blue-and-white illustration by Banhart. A full track list follows.

Devendra Banhart, Ape in Pink Marble track list:
1. “Middle Names”
2. “Good Time Charlie”
3. “Jon Lends A Hand”
4. “Mara”
5. “Fancy Man”
6. “Fig In Leather”
7. “Theme for a Taiwanese Woman in Lime Green”
8. “Souvenirs”
9. “Mourner’s Dance”
10. “Saturday Night”
11. “Linda”
12. “Lucky”
13. “Celebration”