Skip to content

Hear the National, Courtney Barnett, the War on Drugs, and More Cover Grateful Dead

The National‘s long-in-the-works Grateful Dead tribute project will at last be released to the public. Titled Day of the Dead, the 59-song box set will feature Dead covers by the National themselves (“Morning Dew”), Courtney Barnett (“New Speedway Boogie”), the War on Drugs (“Touch of Grey”), Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis, and Friends (“Sugaree”), and Bruce Hornsby with DeYarmond Edison — a group featuring Justin Vernon and Megafaun — who cover “Black Muddy River.” Listen to each take below, and watch a series of videos directed by Michael Brown, Nick Ciontea, and Christopher Bartlett.

[articleembed id=”187038″ title=”The National's Grateful Dead Tribute Album Features Courtney Barnett, Wilco, the Flaming Lips, and More” image=”187042″ excerpt=”The National announced their Grateful Dead tribute album all the way back in 2011, but now it's finally coming out, and based off of the guest list, it'll be worth the wait”]

Benefiting Red Hot, a non-profit HIV/AIDS organization, Day of the Dead is produced by Aaron Dessner and co-produced by Bryce Dessner and Josh Kaufman. It’ll be available digitally, as a 5xCD set, and as a limited edition vinyl box set on May 20 via 4AD.

You’ll probably see a lot of these tracks performed live during an upcoming “Day of the Dead” set at this year’s Eaux Claires, a festival co-curated by Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon. Vernon will join the National, Jenny Lewis, Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck, Will Oldham, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Parry, Lucius, Bruce Hornsby, and Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Ruban Nielson onstage.

Day of the Dead track list:

Thunder (Vol. 1):

1. The War on Drugs: “Touch of Grey”
2. Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends: “Sugaree”
3. Jim James & Friends: “Candyman”
4. Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends: “Cassidy”
5. Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison: “Black Muddy River”
6. Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends: “Loser”
7. The National: “Peggy-O”
8. Kurt Vile and the Violators: “Box of Rain” [ft. J Mascis]
9. Bonnie “Prince” Billy and Friends: “Rubin and Cherise”
10. Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends: “To Lay Me Down”
11. Courtney Barnett: “New Speedway Boogie”
12. Mumford & Sons: “Friend of the Devil”
13. Lucius: “Uncle John’s Band”
14. The Lone Bellow & Friends: “Me and My Uncle”
15. Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends: “Mountains of the Moon”
16. Anohni and yMusic: “Black Peter”
17. Bryce Dessner: “Garcia Counterpoint”
18. Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and the National: “Terrapin Station (Suite)” [ft. Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus]
19. Angel Olsen: “Attics of My Life”
20. Wilco and Bob Weir: “St. Stephen (Live)”

Lightning (Vol. 2):

1. Bonnie “Prince” Billy: “If I Had the World to Give”
2. Phosphorescent & Friends: “Standing on the Moon”
3. Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band: “Cumberland Blues”
4. Tallest Man on Earth & Friends: “Ship of Fools”
5. Bonnie “Prince” Billy & Friends: “Bird Song”
6. The National: “Morning Dew”
7. Marijuana Deathsquads: “Truckin'”
8. Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends: “Dark Star”
9. Nightfall of Diamonds: “Nightfall of Diamonds”
10. Tim Hecker: “Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald”
11. Lucinda Williams & Friends: “Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad”
12. Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends: “Playing in the Band”
13. Local Natives: “Stella Blue”
14. Tal National: “Eyes of the World”
15. Bela Fleck: “Help on the Way”
16. Orchestra Baobab: “Franklin’s Tower”
17. Luluc With Xylouris White: “Till the Morning Comes”
18. The Walkmen: “Ripple”
19. Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream: “Brokedown Palace” [ft. Garth Hudson]

Sunshine (Vol. 3):

1. Real Estate: “Here Comes Sunshine”
2. Unknown Mortal Orchestra: “Shakedown Street”
3. Hiss Golden Messenger: “Brown Eyed Woman”
4. This Is the Kit: “Jack-a-Roe”
5. Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear: “High Time”
6. The Lone Bellow & Friends: “Dire Wolf”
7. Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura: “Althea”
8. Orchestra Baobab: “Clementine Jam”
9. Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks: “China Cat Sunflower – I Know You Rider”
10. Bill Callahan: “Easy Wind”
11. Ira Kaplan & Friends: “Wharf Rat”
12. The Rileys (Terry and Gyan Riley): “Estimated Prophet”
13. Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida: “Drums – Space”
14. Fucked Up: “Cream Puff War”
15. The Flaming Lips: “Dark Star”
16. s t a r g a z e: “What’s Become of the Baby”
17. Vijay Iyer: “King Solomon’s Marbles”
18. Mina Tindle & Friends: “Rosemary”
19. Sam Amidon & Friends: “And We Bid You Goodnight”
20. The National With Bob Weir: “I Know You Rider (live)”