Skip to content

Songwriters Hall of Fame Welcomes Elvis Costello, Tom Petty, and Marvin Gaye

Elvis Costello, Tom Petty, and Marvin Gaye are among the 2016 inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards of Chic and Chip Taylor, the songwriter best-known for “Wild Thing” and “Angel of the Morning,” will also receive the honor.

Two of the awards are posthumous: Gaye was killed in 1984, and Edwards died in 1996. (Rodgers and Chic, however, are playing at Coachella this year.)

The 47th annual induction ceremony takes place June 9 at the Marriott Marquis hotel in New York City. Read the full 2016 announcement, or check out all of the past honorees on the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s “virtual museum,” itself a museum of web design from the year 2002.