Skip to content

Mavis Staples Launches ‘Livin’ on a High Note’ Album Cycle With a New Single

Mavis Staples has had a career both longer and also more storied than most others, and the 76-year-old living legend shows no signs of stopping, having just announced a new album she’s calling Livin’ on a High Note. The February 19 release — out on Anti- — features production by M. Ward as well as writing contributions from Bon Iver, Neko Case, Benjamin Booker, tUnE-yArds, Nick Cave, and more. Pitchfork has the premiere of the You’re Not Alone singer’s “High Note,” the album’s first single, which is available to stream here. Staples also has a documentary for HBO — Mavis! — that premieres on February 29.

Mavis Staples, Livin’ on a High Note track list:
1. “Take Us Back” (Benjamin Booker)
2. “Love and Trust” (Ben Harper)
3. “If It’s a Light” (The Head & the Heart)
4. “Action” (tUnE-yArds)
5. “High Note” (Valerie June)
6. “Don’t Cry” (M. Ward)
7. “Tomorrow” (Aloe Blacc/John Batiste)
8. “Dedicated” (Justin Vernon/M.Ward)
9. “History Now” (Neko Case)
10. “One Love” (Son Little)
11. “Jesus Lay Down Beside Me” (Nick Cave)
12. MLK Song (M. Ward / Martin Luther King)