Skip to content

Baroness to Release New Album, ‘Purple,’ Share Massive ‘Chlorine & Wine’

Savannah, Georgia’s premiere metal outfit, Baroness, has announced the follow-up to 2012’s stellar Yellow and Green — and their first album since their horrific tour bus crash that same year. Purple arrives December 18 via the band’s newly launched imprint, Abraxan Hymns. Of the ten-track effort, guitarist and vocalist John Baizley writes:

After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate. We wanted to write with our normal focus on artistry, balanced against an increased level of energy and focus. It was important for us to write our new songs with the type of enthusiasm and expressiveness that could act as a counterpoint to the album’s dark themes. As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy and sonically captivating in a new way, which was important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine. Purple is the most fully realized representation of our intention as a band; considering the amount of physical and mental energy spent writing it, we have accomplished something which would have seemed impossible to us a couple of years ago.

Hear the first listen off the record, “Chlorine & Wine,” here. Find the full album track list below.

Purple track list:
1. “Morningstar”
2. “Shock Me”
3. “Try to Disappear”
4. “Kerosene”
5. “Fugue”
6. “Chlorine & Wine”
7. “The Iron Bell”
8. “Desperation Burns”
9. “If I Have to Wake Up (Would You Stop the Rain)”
10. “Crossroads of Infinity”